5 Questions with SPPR Featuring Camryn Jun

This week we’re excited to welcome our new intern Camryn Jun to the blog. Camryn joins Soda Pop PR with marketing experience and boundless enthusiasm for the world of PR. She also shares our company-wide Scandal obsession!

Read on to learn about Camryn’s female role models, favorite way to start the day and what being a college athlete taught her about life.

camryn

1. We are all about girl power at SPPR, who is one of your favorite girl bosses or female role models?

As cliché as it sounds, my favorite female role model is my mom. (Pause for eye roll here). There are a lot of amazing girl bosses out there that I draw inspiration from, but I don’t know any of them well enough to say I model my life after them, not like my mom. To me, my mom is living proof that I can have it all as long as I’m willing to put in the work. She is the boss at work and the boss at home. She started working as a temp and worked her way up to Chief of Staff and Resources, all while raising three kids and maintaining a 26-year marriage. She makes me excited for the future and determined to break stereotypes, because I know I don’t have to sacrifice family for my career and vice versa, and when it gets hard and I need advice I’ll already have the best coach.

2. What excites you most about the PR industry?

I love that it’s a female dominated industry, but I am most excited about how young it is. Social media has created a whole new job market, and PR plays an integral role in that. Technology is always advancing so strategies and trends are always changing. It definitely keeps publicists on their toes! This puts the industry in a constant state of growth because it’s directly related to the way people connect and communicate. I’m a total people-person, so I’m really inspired by the idea of being part of an industry that revolves around building relationships.

3. What is one important lesson you learned from being a college athlete that you have applied to your life?

I’ve learned a lot from playing soccer most of my life, and the lesson that was hardest to learn but most applicable to my life off the field is: mistakes are going to happen and it’s okay to fail. You can’t dwell on the mistake and allow it to take you out of the game. You have to dust yourself off, make an adjustment, and keep playing as hard as you can. The best player on the field isn’t the one who never makes a mistake, it’s the one who always recovers. Like in any game of soccer, challenges and setbacks are just a part of life and this sport has taught me how to face adversity with resilience and a positive attitude.

4. Are you a morning person or a night owl? What’s your favorite way to start or finish the day?

To be honest, my answer usually depends on what day of the week it is, but for the most part I am turning into more of a morning person! I love to start my day with the CorePower yoga sculpt class before work. Sometimes it’s a struggle to get up before the sun, but I always feel energized and ready to take on the day after I get my work out in!

5. If you were given the funds and resources to start a charity organization, what would it be?

My charity organization would focus on improving the overall wellness of our veterans and lobbying for higher pension rates for them. I would make physical rehabilitation, reemergence to civilian society, and mental health resources more accessible to the men and women who sacrifice everything for our freedom. My organization’s ultimate mission would be to eliminate the veteran percentage of America’s homeless population. They are our nation’s heroes and we need to treat them like it!

Leave a Reply

