5 Questions with SPPR- Girl Boss Edition: featuring Lauren McGoodwin

This week, we are pleased to welcome Career Contessa founder and all-around #girlboss Lauren McGoodwin to the blog. When Lauren found herself lacking direction despite an abundance of ambition post-grad, she was inspired to start honest conversations with real women about their careers. An idea that started with one interview in a coffee shop has now grown into a platform celebrating successful women and providing resources to help future girl bosses achieve fulfillment in work and in life.

lauren

1. What is your favorite part about being the boss?

By far my favorite part is having the opportunity every day to build a resource I’m truly passionate about. Being a boss also gives me the opportunity every day to be an advisor, coach, or mentor to my team so they can be the best at their jobs.

2. As the owner of a small business who wears many hats, what is one thing you realized early on you needed to delegate?

Early on I realized that I needed someone that was talented and dedicated to the editorial side of Career Contessa. Editorial plays a major role in our business, but it’s not my strength. My first hire was a Managing Editor.

3. Who was the first contessa you featured?

My first Contessa interview was with Jacey Duprie of Damsel in Dior blog. I was a follower of her site for many months when I sent her a cold email about interviewing her for a site I was creating. She agreed and we met in person at a coffee shop. I recorded the interview and later met at her house to take photos for the feature. Luckily, the process is much more streamlined now but it was a wonderful learning experience.

4. What are some challenges you’ve noticed that women entrepreneurs face, but men don’t?

I think a lot of women suffer from a lack of confidence when it comes to building and growing a business. If they don’t have the answer right away, or know exactly how they will accomplish something then we take that as a bad sign. We also often let the fear keep us from making decisions.

5. What is one piece of advice that has always stuck with you?

One of my favorite pieces of advice is that clarity comes from engagement. You cannot solve a problem or learn something new by sitting on the couch and thinking really hard for the answer. You must get out there and engage. Talk to people, attend events, practice a new skill, etc. Just start doing.

Learn more about Lauren and Career Contessa here

Leave a Reply

