5 Questions with SPPR Featuring Joanna Waterfall

This week, the Soda Pop PR team is headed to The Yellow Conference, a gathering for creative women to come together and get inspired to use their skills and passions to make a positive difference in the world. In honor of what is sure to be a major dose of girl power, we asked Yellow Conference creator and Waterfall Creative owner Joanna Waterfall to answer 5 questions about being genuine and chasing your dreams.

photo 1

  1. What was the inspiration behind launching Yellow Conference?

It was an idea that came to me in the shower – a place where our brains can finally slow down for a moment, allowing us to pay attention to our ideas. I had recently met some amazing women who were doing such great things in the world. I was thinking about how cool they were, and how it would be so awesome to get a group of women like this together to talk about and teach others how to use your gifts to spread good. I have a lot of ideas on a day to day basis (too many!!) but this was one I knew I had to follow through with. It was one of those things that made my heart beat fast, made me feel scared, yet totally excited at the same time. I knew it had to happen!

photo 2

2. Knowing what you know now, what pieces of advice would you give to someone launching a business?

I would tell them to think about why they love what they love first. What their strengths are and what their weaknesses are. What kind of help will they need to get to make their dreams a reality? What will they need to sacrifice and are they willing to do that? Doing what you love is the best thing ever- it’s an opportunity that we have in modern times with resources being so accessible to us. But it also takes a lot of hard work and sacrifice to do it right. Don’t get me wrong- it’s SO worth it! Anything worth having takes hard work, right? So if you are debating whether you should reach for your biggest dreams or not- I say go for it, IF you are willing to work your booty off, ask for lots of help, and not stop at failure. When you’re able to do these things- the world is your oyster! Make the world a better place by coming alive and doing what you love. Also, make sure you’re in it for the right reasons. It’s great to want to make money, but if that’s your main reason, you’re probably on the wrong track.

photo 3

3. We love that you’re all about being genuine, how do you work at this into your day-to-day?

I think a lot of us struggle with being ok with who we are deep down. So it causes us to act differently. We become people who we think the world wants us to be. Whether it’s the business world, the creative world, or even your friends. The world is full of people who are not true to themselves simply because they think they are not good enough. I struggle with this too. So for me, being genuine means being true to who I really am. To be ok with who I am and learn to see myself as enough on a daily basis. Whether I’m about to head into a meeting, hop on a phone call, or even write a blog post, I remind myself- you are enough. Just be yourself, if someone doesn’t like who you are or what you have to say, that’s ok.

photo 4

4. What does creativity mean to you? What do you do or where do you go to get inspired?

Great question! To me, creativity is being ok with doing things differently. With approaching work, life and business with a fresh mind, forgetting the things other people are doing or how “so-and-so” said it should be done. Creativity is being brave enough to do things the way you think are best- even if that way is different than anything you’ve ever seen or done before. To me, I love watching music videos and listening to music. I think I’m mostly inspired by people. I swear I was supposed to be a detective in another life! I love trying to figure out what makes people tick, why people are doing the things they are doing, and how people live their lives is fascinating to me. That being said- I go to people for inspiration. I people watch- which brings in my addiction to reality TV. My husband gives me a hard time about it- but I love The Bachelor and The Bachelorette- because I love digging into their minds and trying to figure out why these people are doing what they do! I know it sounds weird- but in some shape or form I’m inspired by people!

photo 5

5. What are three things you can’t live without?

Coffee, family (including my cats), and dry shampoo.

Follow along with all the Yellow Conference fun on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Find Joanna at Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

