SPPR Gives Thanks Series Featuring Whitney Leigh Morris

For the third edition of our SPPR Gives Thanks Series, please welcome the uber talented designer and creative director, Whitney Leigh Morris! Whitney has been recognized for her design work by all of our favorites, One Kings LaneDesign SpongeApartment Therapy, and Good Housekeeping, just to name a few.

Whitney’s impeccable style is an inspiration to many and her genuine kindness is infectious. Coming from someone who lives in the most beautiful little Venice cottage, she reminds us that it’s the little things in life that matter the most.

We hope you enjoy this peek into her life, the lovely cottage she calls home and her adorable pup Stanlee (who makes regular appearances on her Instagram @whitneyleighmorris).

whitneyleighmorrisportraitphoto

1. Name one item you use on a daily basis that you appreciate most. How does it contribute to your quality of life?

Can a home count as an “item” if it’s super tiny?? I appreciate and adore my cottage every moment of my life. It provides me with everything I need and love, and then some– all in 362 square feet. It’s where I conduct most of my work, and where I spend the majority of my down time with my finance, Adam, and our dog, Stanlee. It contributes to my quality of life by reminding me that I don’t need to live large to live beautifully. It proves to me that the less I own, the more I can focus on what matters most in my life.

Styling Stanlee

one_kings_lane_whitney_whitneycouch

2. What local restaurant are you most grateful for?

A dive bar/restaurant just off the Venice Boardwalk. It’s where I first set eyes on my future husband. That moment was one of the most honest, crazy and overwhelming I’ve ever experienced, and I love that it happened in the heart of Venice Beach. (But I’ll refrain from naming the place— frankly, it’s not very good. Now I feel horrible for having said that…)

one_kings_lane_whitney_outdoordining

10522306_253645734843623_649337777_n

3. Can you share a piece of advice that you are grateful to have received?

A long-term client and friend of mine once gave me some precious advice, which applies to those of us whose work and personal lives are thoroughly blended together. When you wake up in the morning, take a moment to breathe and just be. When possible, hold off on checking your phone or turning on your computer– most things can wait another thirty minutes. Take some time to appreciate your partner, your kids, your pets and/or your environment. Be good to yourself– brush your teeth, drink a glass of lemon water, stretch, take a walk, listen to music. Enjoy these little things first and foremost every day before being drawn in by your to-do list. Otherwise, the next thing you know, it’s 4:00, you’ve yet to get dressed, and you can’t even remember kissing your family members goodbye as you parted ways for the day.

one_kings_lane_whitney_kitchenflowers

4. What is one thing you can’t live without on your Thanksgiving table?

It’s not about what’s on the table– it’s the people around it. (I know! I know! Cue the eye roll! But it’s so true, isn’t it?) I’ve spent every Thanksgiving of my life with my family. I’m grateful beyond words and can’t believe how lucky I am to share the holiday with them every year. (Having said that, I will admit to loving a nice glass of red wine…)

one_kings_lane_whitney_kitchen

one_kings_lane_whitney_indoordining

 

5. Who would you like to give thanks to this year?

Pretty much everyone: Strangers who have offered kind support of my business via outlets such as Instagram. My fiancé, who is patient with my overbearing work schedule and perfectionism. My parents, who gave me the world and yet still find more to give me every day via unflinching support and love. And my friends, who are the most incredible, good-hearted, talented, and selfless unicorns.

one_kings_lane_whitney_stanleyonbench

one_kings_lane_whitney_hangingshelf

Whitney Leigh Morris and Stanlee in the Tiny Canal Cottage September 2014

For more information on Whitney visit her website, www.whitneyleighmorris.com and follow her on Instagram @whitneyleighmorris.

(Photos courtesy of Whitney’s Instagram and One Kings Lane)

Leave a Reply

