5 Questions with SPPR Featuring Mandi Hefflinger

Mandi Hefflinger is the newest addition to the Soda Pop PR team joining us from Ohio University for her summer internship. We’re thrilled to have her and excited to share more about what brings her to LA, her tips for other students looking to intern, her recent travels in Ecuador and Peru, and more!

image

1. What brings you to L.A. and to PR

The first time I visited L.A. was about two years ago, and ever since I left I’ve wanted to come back.  L.A. seemed like a perfect place to start my professional career in public relations and I’m already hoping I’ll make it back permanently after graduation!

I found my way to public relations because of my beginnings in the broadcast news world, which I discovered was not for me.  After talking to some close friends and advisors, and joining a programming council at my university, I thought public relations might be better for me.  And it is!

2. Before starting at SPPR, you were studying abroad in Ecuador. What was the most memorable part of your trip?

There are two things that stick out to me from my trip, and I can’t decide between them.  It either has to be climbing to the top of the mountain overlooking Machu Picchu in Peru and realizing I was standing in the clouds, or snorkeling on the back of a wild sea turtle in the Galapagos Islands.  I really, really can’t decide.

3. What are you most looking forward to for your senior year at Ohio University?

I’m looking forward to seeing how Athens has changed since I’ve been gone.  It’s been 6 months since I’ve been to Athens, and I knew a few new restaurants were being built before I left.  There’s a new sushi and frozen yogurt place near campus that I can’t wait to try!

4. Most memorable meal or guilty pleasure eats?

My most memorable meal has to be my final meal in South America.  My friends and I ate at this amazing restaurant called Tunupa in Cuzco, Peru, and the food was to die for.  The main course was alpaca with rosemary sauce, and we finished with a delicious tres leches cake.

5. What advice do you have for students currently looking for internships?

I think a lot of students today expect opportunities to fall into their laps.  But if you work a little bit harder and you’re willing to take the time to network and make connections, it definitely pays off!

Leave a Reply

