Saved by the ‘Mocktail’

One of the most common questions I get since becoming pregnant is “what do you miss the most?” I am sure the obvious answer would be a good night’s sleep, no back pain or simply not feeling like you are a walking blimp 24-7. But for me, I miss a soothing glass of wine, a cold IPA or a refreshing mojito.

Ten months of giving up all the food and alcoholic beverages you love seems daunting at first, but it also allows for a time of creativity when finding satisfactory substitutes. Ok, maybe an avocado roll in lieu of a spicy tuna roll doesn’t really do the trick, but a good mocktail especially 8 months pregnant definitely does!

What would I have done without my mocktails? Although a glass of merlot is only a few weeks away, I have trained my body to adapt to combinations of fruit, Pellegrino and juices as my go-to stress reliever. So for those who are expecting (or not) I want to share a few of my favorite mocktails to help you get through those long months of pregnancy (or simply a long week at work).

  • Faux-Mosa– The perfect substitute to a mimosa with three simple ingredients: Ginger Ale, White Grape Juice and Pineapple Juice garnished with either fresh raspberries or strawberry slices
  • Cucumber Punch- A yummy combination of lemonade and White Grape Juice filled with ice and thin slices of cucumber and lemon—not only does it look pretty but it taste delicious
  • Cranberry Ginger Sparkler- A quick and easy end-of-the-day beverage made up of Pellegrino, a splash or two of Cranberry Juice and fresh Ginger

I hope these recipes will help you feel refreshed and relaxed. Cheers!

~Erin

Leave a Reply

